About HGC

Harvard gates

The Harvard Graduate Council (HGC), previously known as the Harvard Graduate Student Government (HGSG), is a university-wide student government representing the twelve graduate and professional schools of Harvard University. HGC is responsible for advocating on behalf of graduate students with the central administrators, including the President of Harvard University and the Provost's Office. As part of its responsibilities, HGC organizes large university-wide initiatives and events, administers funding for university-wide student groups (USGs), and represents the Harvard graduate student population in relations with other universities and external organizations. HGC also collaborates with its undergraduate counterpart, the Harvard Undergraduate Council.

HGC serves as a steward of the "One Harvard" movement, which aims to bridge the physical and cultural distance between Harvard's 12 graduate schools by means of inter-school collaboration, joint advocacy, and promotion of greater social interaction.


All degree-seeking students who are enrolled at Harvard's twelve graduate and professional schools are members of HGC:

  1. Harvard Business School (HBS)
  2. Harvard Divinity School (HDS)
  3. Harvard Extension School (HES)
  4. Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS)
  5. Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD)
  6. Harvard Graduate School of Education (HGSE)
  7. Harvard Kennedy School of Government (HKS)
  8. Harvard Law School (HLS)
  9. Harvard Medical School (HMS)
  10. Harvard School of Dental Medicine (HSDM)
  11. Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS)
  12. Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH)

The governing body of the HGC is made of an Executive Board, Senators, and Committee Representatives. As of 2014, there were approximately 100 graduate and professional students serving on 7 committees and 23 subcommittees within the Leadership Council. Leadership Council meetings are held throughout the fall and spring semesters and are open to all students from Harvard’s graduate and professional schools.


  • Max Vani, (GSAS) 2018-Present
  • Kevin Tian, (SEAS/GSAS) 2017-2018
  • Peter Dyrud, (GSAS/HKS) 2016-2017
  • Mikal R. Mann, (HGSE) 2015-2016
  • Sudipta "Nila" Devanath, (HLS) 2014-2015
  • Philip Harding, (HKS) 2013-2014
  • Scott Chilton, (GSAS) 2012-2013
  • Joseph Pasqualichio, (HBS) 2011-2012
  • Pukar Malla, (HKS) 2010-2011
  • Aaron Chadbourne, (HLS/HBS) 2009-2010
  • Christopher Laconi, (HKS/HBS) 2007-2009
  • Cheng Zhu, (HGSE) 2006-2007
  • John Kalis, (HDS) 2005-2006
  • Mey Akashah, (HSPH) 2004-2005
  • Beata Zolovska, (HMS) 2003-2004

Executive Vice Presidents

  • Daniel Egel-Weiss, (HLS) 2018-Present
  • Aric Flemming, (HDS) 2017-2018
  • Simeon Bochev, (HBS) 2016-2017
  • Dolly Amaya, (HES) 2015-2016
  • Helene Reola, (HBS) 2014-2015
  • Courtney Evans, (HGSE) 2013-2014
  • Sudipta "Nila" Devanath, (HLS) 2013-2014
  • Yasmeen Shaheen-McConnell, (HDS) 2012-2013
  • Philip Harding, (HES) 2011-2012
  • Gene Anthony, (HDS) 2011

Chair of Information

  • Akinwande Lalude, (HKS) 2017-Present

Formerly 'Vice Presidents of Communications'

  • Andrey Berezin, (HES) 2016-2017
  • Erik Zhang, (HES) 2015-2016
  • D. Gilbert Cassar II, (HES) 2014-2015
  • Selina Yi Lam Wu, (HBS/HES) 2013-2014
  • Leon Xueliang Liu, (GSAS/SEAS) 2013-2014
  • Philip Harding, (HKS/HES) 2012-2013
  • Divya Dhar, (HKS) 2011-2012
  • James Wang, (HMS) 2010-2011
  • Josh Stroman, (HDS) 2009-2010
  • Kristin Allen, (GSE) 2004-2005

Chair of Internal Affairs

  • Tracie Gordon (HES) 2016-Present

Formerly 'Vice Presidents of Internal Affairs'

  • Ornela Gjata, (GSAS/HES) 2015-2016
  • Haneen Sakakini, (HGSE) 2014-2015
  • Yifan Zhang, (GSAS) 2013-2014
  • Michael Cox, (GSAS) 2012-2013
  • Scott Chilton, (GSAS) 2011-2012
  • Gene Anthony, (HDS) 2010-2011
  • Richard Townsend, (GSAS) 2009-2010
  • Alicia Woodley, (HLS) 2006-2007
  • Jacob Hodges, (HLS) 2004-2005

Chair of Advocacy

  • Dana Rassas, (HKS) 2017-Present
  • Natalie Wang, (GSD) 2016-Present

Formerly 'Vice Presidents of Advocacy'

  • Natalie Wang, (GSD) 2016-2017
  • Eric Stephen, (HDS) 2015-2016
  • Nick Zehner, (HDS) May 2014-2015
  • Juan Tellez Sandoval, (HKS) 2013-2014
  • Litcy Kurisinkal, (HKS) 2012-2013
  • Dev Saha, (HSPH) 2011-2012
  • Nikhilesh Chand, (GSAS) 2010-2011
  • Fabiano Romeiro, (GSAS) 2009-2010

Chair of Events

  • Krishna Rajendran, (HBS) 2016-2017

Formerly 'Vice Presidents of Events'

  • Alvin Tran, (HSPH) 2015-2016
  • Dolly Amaya, (HES) Oct 2014-2015
  • Matt Harlan, (HES) 2013-2014
  • Karima Ladhani, (HSPH) 2013-2014
  • Steven Scales, (HGSE) 2012-2013
  • La Kiesha Landrum, (HES) 2011-2012
  • Virginia Hogsett, (HDM) 2010-2011
  • Erica Warner, (HSPH) 2009-2010
  • Sandy Hussain, (GSD) 2006-2007

Chair of Finance

  • Sam Pung, (GSD) 2017-Present
  • Kevin Tian, (SEAS/GSAS) 2015-2017
  • Yue Zhang, (GSAS) 2010-2015
  • Mansoor Awan, (HLS) 2004-2005

Vice Chair for Governance

  • Hanes Roberts, (HKS) 2017-Present

Vice Chair for Student Groups

  • Kenneth R. Insley Jr, (HKS) 2017-Present

Vice Chair for Social Engagement

  • Tas Islam, (HES) 2017-Present
  • Aaron Roe, (HES) 2016-2017
  • Sana Saeed, (HDS) 2016

Formerly 'Vice Presidents of Social Engagement'

  • Alexander Rodriguez, (HES/GSAS) 2014-2016

Vice Chair for Diversity

  • Kelly Menjivar Ramirez, (HES) 2017-Present

Vice Chair for Communication

  • La'Toya Princess Jackson, (HES) 2016-Present

    University-wide Student Groups (USG)

    The Harvard Graduate Council (HGC) provides operational and event grant funding for recognized university wide student organizations through the University-wide Student Groups Sub-Committee of the HGC Finance Committee.